Prize Giving Is Culmination Of Another Exceptional Crackley Hall Year

Prize Giving at Crackley Hall is the culmination of the academic year, it is a chance to reflect, a chance to celebrate and a chance to give thanks. For the first time this year the ceremony took place in the ‘new’ school hall with the Lower School receiving their awards in the afternoon and Junior 5 and 6 in the evening.

Crackley was delighted to welcome Trustee Sister Jude Bogie, and Chair of Trustees, Mrs Mary O’Farrell, who joined Mr Cottrill, Mr Ferris and Mr Duigan on stage for both ceremonies and Trustees Bernard Warner and David Jackson, and Mr Hester, Headmaster from Princethorpe, for the evening ceremony.

The events were also a chance to showcase some of Crackley’s top talents with superb performances from the Choral Group and Chamber Choir and stunning individual solo pieces by Marisa Lucas, Yichen Pan and Tom Lomas.

The Choral Group sang so inspirationally in the afternoon, their voices in perfect harmony and their words succinctly summing up what Crackley Hall is all about ‘We can achieve our dreams, if together we all believe’.

Mr Duigan gave a thought provoking speech, he gave thanks to the many who give so much to the school in so many ways – PTA, teachers, support staff, parents and most of all the pupils. He encouraged the children to strive to do their best and reflected on learning on life’s long journey. Crackley Hall’s outgoing Head Boy, Jamie Smith, and Head Girl, Lara Convey, also spoke movingly about their special Crackley journey, from Nursery through to Junior 6, and the memories and friends they will take with them as they move on to secondary school.

And then it was time for the awards, book awards for progress, effort, achievement and school spirit and kindness. Followed by cups and shields and trophies galore, all recognising the diligence, effort and excellence that abounds at Crackley Hall.

It was difficult to pick winners for this year’s Special Awards as there were many worthy potential recipients and it was with great pride that Mr Duigan awarded the following:

St Joseph’s School Spirit Award – Luca Chapman and Marisa Lucas
Scholarship Award – Tom Lomas
Sister Mary Patrick Trophy for Caring – Lara Convey
PTA Crackley Hall Shield – Jamie Smith

As the evening ceremony concluded, all Crackley pupils were encouraged to reflect on their achievements this year, as prize winner or not, all should be rightfully proud. Mr Cottrill went on to announce the new Head Boy, Fynn Walker, and Head Girl, Dari Kotlarsky, who proudly took to the stage to receive their badges of office from Mr Duigan.

Finally, the school presented Mrs O’Farrell with flowers to thank her for her wisdom and support over many years and the ceremony closed with a stirring rendition of the Foundation Hymn Here I Am Lord.

New 2017-2018 Student Roles of Office Announced

Following Prize Giving, Mr Cottrill had the great pleasure of introducing our new student prefect and steward body for the 2017-2018 academic year.  Please click here for a brief list of the roles with their assigned pupil next to it.