Prize Giving Is Culmination Of Another Exceptional Crackley Hall Year

Prize Giving at Crackley Hall is the culmination of the academic year, it is a chance to reflect, a chance to celebrate and a chance to give thanks. This year’s Prize Giving took place on Friday 29 June with the Lower School receiving their awards in the afternoon and Junior 5 and 6 in the evening.

Crackley was delighted to welcome a number of special guests to the celebrations including Father Kevin Hooper, Chair of Trustees, Mrs Liz Griffin, Trustees Mrs Mary O’Farrell and Bernard Warner and Senior Foundation Headmaster, Ed Hester.

Headmaster, Mr Duigan gave a thought provoking speech, he gave thanks to the many who give so much to the school in so many ways – PTA, teachers, support staff, parents and most of all the pupils who make Crackley Hall so much more than just a school. He challenged every boy and every girl to wake up every day and ask themselves what they can do differently and to then at the end of the day reflect and give thanks. He encouraged all the children to strive to do their best, to laugh loudly and a lot, to never settle for second best, to believe and have faith and to never let anyone shatter your dreams or break your spirit.

Crackley Hall’s outgoing Head Boy, Fynn Walker, and Head Girl, Dari Kotlarsky, also spoke movingly about their special Crackley journey, and the memories and friends they will take with them as they move on to secondary school.

And then there was the awards, book awards for progress, effort, achievement and school spirit and kindness. Followed by cups and shields and trophies galore, all recognising the diligence, effort and excellence that abounds at Crackley Hall.

It was difficult to pick winners for this year’s Special Awards as there were many worthy potential recipients and it was with great pride that Mr Duigan awarded the following:

St Joseph’s School Spirit Award – Alice Minshull

Scholarship Award – Kaena Wasley

Sister Mary Patrick Trophy for Caring – Pippa Cowdry

PTA Crackley Hall Shield – Hattie Underill

As the ceremonies concluded, all Crackley pupils were encouraged to reflect on their achievements this year, as prize winner or not, all should be rightfully proud.

At the evening ceremony Mr Cottrill announced the new Head Boy, Joe McCullough, and Head Girl, Francesca Kelly, who proudly took to the stage to receive their badges of office from Mr Duigan.

Finally, both ceremonies closed with a stirring rendition of the Foundation Hymn Here I Am Lord.